Posted: 9 October, 2016

Davison And Webb: Bathurst 1000 Winners

Tags: Bathurst 1000

Image: @supercars

Will Davison and Jonathan Webb have won the 2016 Bathurst 1000 in a dramatic finish.

What may have started off as a bit of a dour race has turned into one of the most unbelievable finishes we've since in the Bathurst 1000, with several big names spinning out of contention in the back half of the race.

A remarkable incident on the 150th lap of Bathurst put both Garth Tander and Scott McLaughlin out of the race.

McLaughlin was sitting in second and went to try and overtake Whincup on a corner, when Whincup nudged him slightly.

The contact forced McLaughlin on to the grass, and when he redressed and came back on the track he clipped Tander.

The damage caused to the cars forced both racers to retire.

Watch the incident here:


Whincup copped a 15 second penalty for his part in the incident, effectively putting him out of the podium positions despite leading the race.

Reigning V8 Supercars champion Mark Winterbottom's day ended early after spinning out into the dirt.

Winterbottom — who was sitting fifth at the time — suffered a braking failure on the 135th lap, spinning out near the entry to The Chase and bogging.

"I turned left at Forrest's Elbow and it broke,” Winterbottom said.

“Pushed hard right into the fence and it is broken down Conrod Straight.”

Watch the incident here:


Winterbottom’s inability to finish effectively ends his chances of defending his driver’s championship.

On lap 157 there was another drama, with Kelly landing in the wall at the Elbow.

Tags: Bathurst 1000

To Read Next