Posted: 13 September, 2012 by Triple M Footy

Lenny Hayes Wins St Kilda's Best And Fairest

St Kilda star midfielder Lenny Hayes has capped off a stellar season by being named St Kilda’s 2012 Best and Fairest, the third Trevor Barker Award of his career (2003, 2010 & 2012).

Tags: Lenny Hayes

Lenny Hayes' Video Acceptance:

video container

St Kilda star midfielder Lenny Hayes has capped off a stellar season by being named St Kilda’s 2012 Best and Fairest, the third Trevor Barker Award of his career (2003, 2010 and 2012).

Hayes, who underwent corrective surgery for a cardiac condition a week ago, was resting at home and unable to attend the function, but accepted his Award through a recorded message.
Arguably the most admired and respected player in football, Hayes was the star of the night, scooping five awards at the sold-out function held at the Peninsula, Docklands.

Following a successful comeback from a second knee reconstruction, the 32-year-old stalwart didn’t miss a game, averaging 24.5 disposals, 12.9 handballs and 5.9 tackles per game.

After presenting the prestigious Award, Senior Coach Scott Watters spoke about the character and commitment that has defined Hayes' career.

"Lenny's achievement in winning the 2012 Best & Fairest is an outstanding example of his professionalism. His return from injury this year has further illustrated the character and commitment that has defined his whole career. His impact on his team mates as a role model is immeasurable and his will to perform at a consistently high level positions him as a standard bearer at our football club," Watters said.

Hayes claimed the prestigious Award by a slimmest of margins, polling 124 votes, just three ahead of fellow midfielder Leigh Montagna, and defender Sean Dempster in third on 112 votes.

Montagna, who recently signed a new 2-year deal with the Saints, also featured in all 22-games in season 2012.

"Consistency of performance is a characteristic of the best players in the competition and Leigh's season was a great example of sustaining elite performance. Leigh's season highlighted his strong leadership attributes, regularly taking on the competition's elite midfielders and having significant impact. This year, Leigh was able to fill a number of roles which is also a credit to his capacity to continue his evolution as a player and put the team's values first," concluded Watters.

Throughout the evening, which was a celebration of the 'The Season That Was', a number of Club Awards were presented including three Life Memberships.

Current St Kilda Director Nathan Burke presented Life Memberships to retiring Directors Ross Levin and John Gdanski, and to Brendon Goddard, who earlier this season become only the 26th St Kilda player to reach the 200 game milestone.

Mature-age recruit Ahmed Saad received the 2012 Most Promising Player Award. Making his AFL debut in Round 6 against Hawthorn, the 22 year-old had a season to remember playing 16 games and kicking 28 goals.

Sean Dempster has received league-wide acclaim for his form this season, but internally he is revered for his first-class approach to football and the Club as a whole. In addition to his 3rd place Best & Fairest finish, Sean was presented with the Robert Harvey Most Professional Player Award.

"Sean Dempster's preparation is elite and his performances this year have mirrored his preparation. He has continued to develop his game with his marking becoming a feature. Sean's ability to limit the impact of key opposition forwards and to contribute to our drive out of the back half has been a highlight this season. As well as some outstanding individual games, his leadership has driven the team and a number of emerging players within the Club," Scott Watters said.

Two new Awards this season were the “Desire Indicator Awards”. Each week after video analysis of both AFL and VFL games, players are awarded points for both desire and attacking indicators. Lenny Hayes was the AFL Award recipient, and fellow New South Welshman, Jackson Ferguson, won the VFL equivalent.

Best and Fairest Voting

Members of St Kilda's match committee - comprising of Senior Coach Scott Watters and Assistant Coaches Adam Kingsley, Dean Laidley and Danny Sexton – could award up to 22 votes across the 22 featured players per game. These votes were tallied after Round 23 to find this year’s Trevor Barker Award winner.

2012 Trevor Barker Award Top 10

1. Lenny Hayes, 124 votes
2. Leigh Montagna, 121 votes
3. Sean Dempster, 112 votes
4. Brendon Goddard, 96 votes
5. Nick Riewoldt, 81 votes
6. Jarryn Geary, 80 votes
7. Nick Dal Santo, 79 votes
8. Sam Fisher, 69 votes
9. David Armitage, 66 votes
10. Jack Steven, 65 votes

Other Awards Winners

Trevor Barker Award: Lenny Hayes
Robert Harvey Most Professional Award: Sean Dempster
Most Promising Player Award: Ahmed Saad
Desire Indictor Award (AFL): Lenny Hayes
Desire Indictor Award (VFL): Jackson Ferguson
Halo Coterie – Robert Harvey Best Player Award: Lenny Hayes
Halo Coterie – Nathan Burke Most Determined Award: Lenny Hayes
John Moran Loyalty Award: Abe Wiser

Life Members
Ross Levin
John Gdanski
Brendon Goddard

Tags: Lenny Hayes

Post a comment

* Indicates required field

(this will be the name displayed on the site)

Related Content

To Read Next