Posted: 23 August, 2012 by The Ruck

Quade Cooper Named In Wallabies Team

Quade Cooper will face Richie McCaw in what will be a repeat of last year's World Cup semi-final as the Wallabies look to improve on their disappointing start to the Rugby Championship.

Tags: Quade Cooper, Richie McCaw, Wallabies

The Kiwi media must be salavating! Quade Cooper finally named in the Wallabies line-up to face Richie McCaw and the All Blacks.

Quade Cooper, who was the most hated man in New Zealand during last year's Rugby World Cup, will start in a repeat of the RWC semi final at Eden Park.

Will Genia will take up the role of captaincy whilst Michael Hooper is brought in to the line up to replace David Pocock who is out for the rest of the championship.

Kurtley Beale is also out whilst Berrick Barnes, who will retain kicking duties, shifts from the backline to inside centre to make way for Cooper.

The last time the Wallabies won at Eden Park, injured skipper James Horwill was just 15 months old when a team led by Andrew Slack won 22-9 to take home the Bledisloe Cup. The date was September 6 1986.


  • Adam Ashley-Cooper
  • Drew Mitchell
  • Rob Horne
  • Berrick Barnes
  • Digby Ioane
  • Quade Cooper
  • Will Genia (c)
  • Scott Higginbotham
  • Michael Hooper
  • Dave Dennis
  • Nathan Sharpe
  • Sitaleki Timani
  • Ben Alexander
  • Tatafu Polota Nau
  • Benn Robinson

  • Bench

  • To Be Advised

All Blacks

  • Israel Dagg
  • Cory Jane
  • Ma'a Nonu
  • Sonny Bill Williams
  • Hosea Gear
  • Daniel Carter
  • Aaron Smith
  • Kieren Read
  • Richie McCaw (c)
  • Liam Messam
  • Sam Whitelock
  • Luke Romano
  • Owen Franks
  • Keven Mealamu
  • Wyatt Crockett

  • Bench

  • Ben Franks
  • Brodie Retallick
  • Victor Vito
  • Piri Weepu
  • Aaron Cruden
  • Ben Smith

Tags: Quade Cooper, Richie McCaw, Wallabies

Post a comment

* Indicates required field

(this will be the name displayed on the site)

Related Content

To Read Next