Posted: 10 April, 2014 by Triple M NRL

Four Nations Schedule

NRL unveil Four Nations tournament and Sydney misses out

Tags: Four Nations


Photo: Getty Images

The NRL has unveiled it's schedule for the upcoming Four Nations tournament and Sydney has missed out on hosting a match.

Brisbane’s Suncorp Stadium will host a double-header to open the end-of-season 2014 Four Nations tournament ahead of a first ever final for the event in New Zealand.

The seven-match tournament will also feature games in Melbourne, Wollongong, Dunedin and Whangarei, ahead of a first Four Nations Final in New Zealand, in the capital Wellington.

The 2014 tournament includes World Champs and Four Nations holders Australia, New Zealand, England and the winner of the mid-season Pacific Test between Fiji and Samoa to be played at Penrith, in Sydney’s west, on Saturday, May 3. Tickets for this match went on sale this week.*

The staging of the Four Nations Final in Wellington follows the success of the Four Nations double-header at Auckland’s Eden Park in 2010, as well as the stunning support from fans for the inaugural Dick Smith NRL Auckland Nines.

The NSW Minister for Sport and Recreation, Ms Gabrielle Upton, applauded the decision to host one of the Four Nations Test matches in Wollongong.

“Having the Kangaroos playing at WIN Stadium is an absolute bonus for Rugby League fans in the Illawarra,” she said.

“The NRL could have scheduled this match in Sydney, but they have decided to reward fans in Wollongong and the region for their lifelong support of Rugby League.

“I have had ongoing conversations with the NRL about the importance of playing big matches at WIN Stadium, and this historic decision to schedule the first ever Kangaroos Test match there is a terrific outcome."

Ticket details for the 2014 Four Nations tournament will be released in May.


Saturday, October 25: Australia v New Zealand, England v Pacific Team at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane.
Saturday, November 1: New Zealand v Pacific Team at Toll Stadium, Whangarei
Sunday, November 2: Australia v England at AAMI Park, Melbourne
Saturday, November 8: New Zealand v England at Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin.
Sunday, November 9: Australia v Pacific Team at WIN Stadium, Wollongong
Saturday, November 15: Four Nations Final at Westpac Stadium, Wellington.

*Please note that tickets are now on sale for the Pacific Test between Fiji and Samoa to be played at Penrith’s Sportingbet Stadium on Saturday, May 3. Tickets are just $10 for adults and $5 for children (Under 4 Free on Knee) and are available from Ticketek.

Tags: Four Nations

To Read Next