Sports Hall of Fame - Celebrating local sporting history

Twenty seven nominees will be inducted

Sports Hall of Fame - Celebrating local sporting history

Twenty seven nominees for the inaugural GREATER SHEPPARTON Sports Hall of FAME will be inducted next Friday.

The event will be held at the Eastbank Centre - and residents are invited to come along and celebrate individuals and teams who've exhibited sporting excellence.

The evening will see individuals and teams who have achieved sporting excellence and made a significant contribution to their chosen sport formally inducted into the Greater Shepparton Sports Hall of Fame.This event will bring together Greater Shepparton’s sporting greats to celebrate their proudest and most outstanding sporting achievements.

Greater Shepparton City Council established a Sports Hall of Fame to recognise the achievement of Greater Shepparton sports people who have made a significant contribution to their sport. The Greater Shepparton Sports Hall of Fame aims to preserve, celebrate and showcase the history and heritage of sports excellence and achievement of Greater Shepparton residents.

The nominees were considered by Greater Shepparton Sports Hall of Fame Advisory Committee for their sporting achievements at a national and international level across a range of disciplines. The nominations include the following sportspeople:

  • Max Carlos, Boxer *
  • Kate Church, Paralympic Swimmer
  • Andrew Cleave and Dave Power, Motorcycle speedway riders
  • Michael Dobbie, Paralympic Tennis Player
  • Christine Dobson, Hockey Player
  • Louise Dobson OAM, Hockey Player
  • Grace Edwards OAM, Croquet Player *
  • Stephen Fairless, Cyclist
  • Jack Findlay, Motorcyclist *
  • Mary Grieve, Croquet Player *
  • Jack Halsall, Motorcyclist *
  • Enda Harling, Lawn Bowler
  • Glen James OAM, Football Umpire
  • Margo Koskelainen OAM, Softball Umpire
  • Betty Knight, Cyclist
  • Brett Lancaster OAM, Cyclist
  • Mavis Meadowcroft, Lawn Bowler *
  • Lee Naylor, Dual Olympic Runner
  • Shaun O’Brien, Cyclist
  • Clarice Power, Lawn and Indoor Bowler
  • Bruce Quick, Pistol Shooter
  • Michael Scandolera, Badminton Player
  • Elizabeth Tadich, Cyclist
  • Elizabeth Tavener, Netballer
  • John Thorsen, Track Cyclist
  • Barry Wood, Rifle Shooter

 Inductees include players and athletes, coaches and officials, administrators and others involved in sport at an elite level. Nominations were open to anyone who has been a resident of Greater Shepparton who actively participated or supported sport in the area prior to, or during, achieving national or international level sporting success.

Tickets are available for the inaugural ceremony at the Riverlinks Box Office or online until Friday 28 July.

*These inductees are deceased and will be represented by their families.