Here To Stay

Mayor Holds Position

Here To Stay

The City of Busselton is pleased to announce the results of the 2017 Local Government Elections. Grant Henley, Kelly Hick, Rob Bennett and Lyndon Miles will be sworn in at a special meeting of council tonight. Four positions were contested at the 2017 election. Thirteen candidates nominated for a position on Council and successful nominees, listed in order of the number of votes received, were:

Grant Henley (4738), Kelly Hick (3089), Rob Bennett (3018), Lyndon Miles (2853)

CEO Mike Archer welcomed the newly elected and returning members to Council noting that change in the Council composition is an exciting time for the City and the community at large.

While in Bunbury, Gary Brennan will serve a second term as Mayor and two new faces will take their place in Council chambers following Saturday’s City of Bunbury Local Government elections.

Mr Brennan topped the Mayoral poll with 2305 votes, more than 800 ahead of second-placed Brendan Kelly (1495)

Betty McCleary (1480), Michelle Steck (1110), Ross Slater (903), Jason Shaw (406), Zyggi Uchwal (179) rounded out the count.

The contest for the six vacant councillor positions was a tight affair with two new faces, Todd Brown (2978 votes) and Tresslyn Smith (2197), joining Bunbury City Council. They take the seats of retiring councillor Judy Jones and serving councillor Wendy Giles, who missed out on being re-elected.