How To Turn Your 20 Days Annual Leave Into 51 Days Off Next Year

Double the holidays

How To Turn Your 20 Days Annual Leave Into 51 Days Off Next Year Getty

It's never too early to start thinking about your holidays - especially when you want to get in first with your boss.

After crunching the numbers, finder.com.au have figured out how you can maximise your annual leave and turn 20 days off into 51 glorious holiday days in 2018.

By planning your trips around public holidays - and, in particular, Easter - you can more than double your time off next year.

Which means that if you're thinking of heading overseas, March and April are probably going to be your best bet.

Keen? Here's how to do it:

January

Monday 1 to Sunday 7 - seven days off using four annual leave days.

New Year's Day, 1 January, is a public holiday.

Book off Tuesday 2, Wednesday 3, Thursday 4 and Friday 5 January.

Thursday 25 to Sunday 28 - four days off using one annual leave day.

Australia Day, 26 January, is a public holiday.

Book off Thursday 25 January.

March

Saturday 24 March to Sunday 8 April - 16 days off using eight annual leave days.

Good Friday, 30 March, and Easter Monday, 2 April, are public holidays.

Book off Monday 26, Tuesday 27, Wednesday 28 and Thursday 29 March and Tuesday 3, Wednesday 4, Thursday 5 and Friday 6 April.

April

Saturday 21 April to Sunday 29 April - nine days off using four annual leave days.

Anzac Day, 25 April, is a public holiday.

Book off Monday 23, Tuesday 24, Thursday 26 and Friday 27 April.

June

Saturday 9 June to Monday 11 June - three days off using no annual leave days.

The Queen's Birthday, 11 June, is a public holiday.

September/ October

Saturday 29 September to Monday 1 October - three days off using no annual leave days.

Labour Day, 1 October, is a public holiday.

December 

Saturday 22 December to Sunday 30 December - nine days off using three annual leave days.

Christmas Day, 25 December, and Boxing Day, 26 December, are public holidays.

Book off Monday 24, Thursday 27 and Friday 28 December.

TOTAL: 51 DAYS OFF

;