Cowboys Prepare For Darwin Heat Wave

They're taking on the Eels!

Cowboys Prepare For Darwin Heat Wave

Image: Instagram @nqcowboys

The North Queensland Cowboys will travel to Darwin this week to take on the Eels who have crept in to the top 8.

The two teams last faced each other a month ago with the Eels having no troubles with the Cowboys, winning 26-6.

The main persecutor in the round 9 clash was Corey Norman, who has since succumbed to a knee injury. Norman has been named on the extended bench this week for the Eels, as has Johnathan Thurston for the Cowboys.

The game which is played in Darwin will be an Eels home game however the Cowboys are expecting a very vocal and supportive crowd.

In normally warm weather in Darwin, the forecast doesn’t look much hotter than what the teams would expect if they were playing in Townsville.

Cowboys halfback Michael Morgan has admitted the round 9 clash was the Cowboys worst performance of the season saying that it does play on the back of their minds as to how bad they were 5 weeks ago.

Since then the Cowboys have won 2 and lost 1 to the defending premiers whereas the Eels have won 2 and lost 2.

The Eels have won the last 3 games they have taken to Darwin meaning the Cowboys must play well if they want to bring the competition points back to Townsville.


For the Cowboys Kyle Laybutt has been named to debut at 5/8 and for the Eels, Nathan Davis has been named to play his first game for the club after coming up in the offseason from the Gold Coast Titans.

Team lists have been announced and can be found below:

Cowboys: 1-Lachlan Coote, 2-Kyle Feldt, 3-Justin O’Neill, 4-Kane Linnett, 5-Antonio Winterstein, 6-Kyle Laybutt, 7-Michael Morgan, 8-John Asiata, 9-Jake Granville, 10-Scott Bolton, 11-Gavin Cooper, 12-Ethan Lowe, 13-Jason Taumalolo INTERCHANGE, 14-Ben Hampton, 15-Coen Hess, 16-Shaun Fensom, 17-Ben Spina, 18-Corey Jensen, 19-Johnathan Thurston, 20-Kalyn Ponga, 21-Javid Bowen

Eels: 1-Bevan French, 2-Semi Radradra, 3-Brad Takairangi, 4-Kirisome Auva’a, 5-Nathan Davis, 6-Clinton Gutherson, 7-Mitchell Moses, 8-Suaia Matagi, 9-Kaysa Prichard, 10-Tim Mannah, 11-Manu Ma’u, 12-Tepai Moeroa, 13-Nathan Brown INTERCHANGE, 14-Beau Scott, 15-Daniel Alvaro, 16-Kenny Edwards, 17-Will Smith, 18-John Folau, 19-Siosaia Vave, 20-Marata Niukore, 21-Corey Norman