6 Players Added To The International Rules Squad


6 Players Added To The International Rules Squad Image: Getty

6 AFL players have been added to the squad to take on Ireland in the upcoming International Rules Series.

The players included are Jack Gunston (Haw), Ben Brown (NM), Neville Jetta (Melbourne), Luke Shuey (WC), Kade Simpson (Carlton) and Robbie Tarrant (NM).

Australian coach Chris Scott said the group of players were chosen for covering a series of skills and sizes.

“All six players who will complete the Australian squad have been members of the All Australian season squad during their careers, as elite players of the competition, and each has been in outstanding form this season,” he said. 

“They provide us with a mix of both height in defence and attack and speed through the midfield.” 

Here is the full squad for the first game on Sunday, November 12 at Adelaide Oval:

Gary Ablett (Geelong)

Eddie Betts (Adelaide Crows)

Ben Brown (North Melbourne)

Travis Boak (Port Adelaide)

Shaun Burgoyne (Hawthorn)

Patrick Dangerfield (Geelong Cats)

Nathan Fyfe (Fremantle)

Jack Gunston (Hawthorn)

Brendon Goddard (Essendon)

Michael Hibberd (Melbourne)

Neville Jetta (Melbourne)

Rory Laird (Adelaide Crows)

Zac Merrett (Essendon)

Scott Pendlebury (Collingwood)

Paddy Ryder (Port Adelaide)

Joel Selwood (Geelong Cats)

Luke Shuey (West Coast Eagles)

Kade Simpson (Carlton)

Rory Sloane (Adelaide Crows)

Robbie Tarrant (North Melbourne)

Chad Wingard (Port Adelaide)

Dayne Zorko (Brisbane Lions)