Adelaide Unveil 2018 Leadership Group

Tex named captain again

Adelaide Unveil 2018 Leadership Group Getty Images

Adelaide have announced a downsized four-man leadership group for the 2018 season with Taylor Walker once again named captain. 

Walker will skipper the Crows for a fourth consecutive year while Rory Sloane, who comes out of contract at the end of the season, will be his vice-captain. 

Sloane has the option of leaving Adelaide as an unrestricted free agent at the end of the year and has been linked to Victorian clubs such as St Kilda. 

Joining the star pair in the Crows’ leadership group this year are forward Tom Lynch and midfielder Matt Crouch, who has been promoted for the first time. 

Eddie Betts, the retired Scott Thompson and Daniel Talia have made way from the leadership group which featured six players last year.

Walker said he was excited to lead the club in 2018.

“I enjoy the responsibility of being captain. I have a lot of faith in this playing group and look forward to seeing what we can achieve this season,” he said. 

Coach Don Pyke praised the four players in the senior leadership group and described them as quality young men both on and off the field.

“All members of our leadership group were recognised for their ability to live our values and behaviours, drive standards and maintain a consistent level of performance, both on and off the field,” Pyke said. 

“Taylor, Rory and Tom set a great example last season and have taken it to a new level with their engagement and leadership this pre-season.

“Matt is the youngest member of the group and his elevation reinforces the progress he has made in the past couple of years and allows us to build one of our younger leaders.”