Star Crow Gets Players' Nod For AFLW MVP

Phillips earns gong

Star Crow Gets Players' Nod For AFLW MVP

(Image: Getty)

Adelaide's AFLW premiership-winning co-captain Erin Phillips has taken out the AFL Players' Association most valuable player award.

It continues a stunning season for Phillips who collected the medal for best afield in the Crows' thrilling grand final win over Brisbane on Saturday.

Olympic basketballer Phillips claimed the peer-voted award with 204 votes, ahead of star Melbourne midfielder Karen Paxman (149 votes) and Carlton's Darcy Vescio (132).

"I'm incredibly humbled to have won this award," Phillips said.

"To be recognised by your peers is something all athletes hold in high esteem and this is something I will hold very close to my heart for a long time.

"I'm so proud of what we, as AFLW players, have been able to achieve over the past eight weeks and look forward to what the future holds for all of us as players and aspiring female footballers right across Australia."

Phillips wasn't the only Crow recognised on Monday, co-captain Chelsea Randall taking out the most courageous player award at a ceremony in Melbourne.

Melbourne captain Daisy Pearce collected the best captain award ahead of Phillips and Brisbane's Emma Zielke.

Phillips, who won a silver medal with the Opals at the Beijing Olympic Games, will return to basketball duties with WNBA club the Dallas Wings following the inaugural AFLW season. 

The 31-year-old is the frontrunner for the AFLW best-and-fairest award, the equivalent of the Brownlow Medal, to be announced at a gala ceremony in Melbourne on Tuesday evening.