New AFLW Licenses Awarded

Two new Women's teams for 2019

New AFLW Licenses Awarded Getty Images

The AFL have announced that North Melbourne and Geelong have won the two new AFL Women's licenses.

Currently an eight-team competition, the AFLW will expand to 10 teams in 2019.

The AFLW will then become a 14-team competition in 2020 with the admission of Richmond, Gold Coast, St Kilda and West Coast.

Essendon and Hawthorn were the other teams to apply for new licenses, but missed out.

Adelaide, the Brisbane Lions, Carlton, Collingwood, Fremantle, GWS, Melbourne and the Western Bulldogs were foundation members of the AFLW.

The Crows are the inaugural and reigning Women's premiers.