AFL Commission Announces AFLW Expansion


AFL Commission Announces AFLW Expansion

(Image: Getty)

Speaking on behalf of the AFL Commission, official spokesman Patrick Keane has announced that the AFLW will expand in 2019.

The league will remain an 8-team competition for the 2018 season.

"Further talent identification and development, along with continued work to build the fan base of all clubs" are cited as important factors for the upcoming season before expansion takes place.

Although it is not currently clear how many clubs or which clubs will receive licences, all are invited to apply.

Here is the full statement: