Ward, Davis To Skipper GWS Again

De Boer added to leadership group

Ward, Davis To Skipper GWS Again Getty Images

Phil Davis and Callan Ward will continue as Greater Western Sydney’s co-captains in 2018 after the club named its downsized five-man leadership group on Monday. 

Davis and Ward have skippered the Giants since their debut 2012 season, meaning they are now the equal longest-serving captains in the AFL along with Geelong’s Joel Selwood (seven seasons).

Joining the pair in the GWS leadership group this year are superstar midfielder Josh Kelly, gun onballer Stephen Coniglio and surprise packet Matt De Boer

De Boer has come a long way since the end of 2016 when he was delisted by Fremantle and his future unclear.

The Giants took a punt on him and he repaid the faith last year by becoming a regular member of their best 22. The defensive forward left such an impression that he earned himself a new two-year contract late last year. 

De Boer comes into the leadership group at the expense of Heath Shaw, Dylan Shiel and Devon Smith, who is now at Essendon, after the aforementioned trio formed part of a seven-man leadership group last year.

Speaking on behalf of the leadership group, Ward said he was honoured to once again be leading the Giants

“This position is an enormous honour for Phil and I and we’re really looking forward to what’s to come in 2018,” he said.

“We have some terrific support around us with Steve, Josh and Matt and the whole playing group really helping to drive the standards throughout the pre-season. 

“With the season almost upon us, I know the playing group is really looking forward to building on what we’ve done to this point.”