Walker To Captain Crows Again

Tex wins role for third year in a row

Walker To Captain Crows Again

(Image: Getty)

Star forward Taylor Walker will captain Adelaide for a third consecutive year in 2017.

Walker will spearhead a new-look six-man Crows leadership group which now includes Eddie Betts and Tom Lynch.

The duo replace Sam Jacobs, Richard Douglas and the retired Nathan van Berlo who were part of a seven-man leadership group in 2016.

Walker, Betts and Lynch are joined by new vice-captain Rory Sloane, Scott Thompson and Daniel Talia in the leadership group.

Walker was thrilled to captain Adelaide again this year.

“It’s always an honour to be named captain of your football club and it’s a responsibility I thoroughly enjoy,” Walker said.

“I am really confident in the playing group we have at the club and am excited for what season 2017 holds.”

Coach Don Pyke praised the six players who have been chosen to lead Adelaide in 2017.

“Taylor has done an exceptional job as captain during my time at the club and has fittingly been returned to the role,” Pyke said.

“Rory is a great leader on and off the field for our players and he has deservedly been selected vice-captain. Daniel and Scott were both influential with their leadership last year and will continue to play an important role in 2017.

“Excitingly, Tom and Eddie have been recognised for their commitment to our team values and have been added to the group and both will be key contributors this season.”