Rush Hour Unanimously Nominate Next Legend

JB, Billy, Roosy and Damo all agree

Rush Hour Unanimously Nominate Next Legend Getty Images

Triple M’s Rush Hour is in total agreement that Kevin Sheedy should be inducted as the next legend of the Australian Football Hall of Fame. 

Sheedy, Wayne Carey, Jason Dunstall, Gary Ablett senior and Greg Williams are all eligible for legend status in 2018. 

With this year’s ceremony fast approaching, Paul Roos, James Brayshaw, Billy Brownless and Damian Barrett all agree that Sheedy stands out from the crowd.

Sheedy coached Essendon to four premierships, played in three Richmond premierships and was involved in 929 games as a player or coach – a VFL/AFL record. 

“When I look at it, I think of contribution to the game in terms of the bigger picture,” Roos said during The Midweek Rub.

“Kevin Sheedy is probably the one that stands out on that list because his playing career wasn’t anywhere near Wayne Carey, Jason Dusntall, Gary Ablett and Greg Williams.

“I think it's the combination of the two and what he’s done to the game itself.”  

JB added: “I think the other four will end up legends at some stage but Kev’s obviously a fair bit older than the other four so he should go in with the other four to follow at some stage pretty soon after.”

Sheedy, who also coached GWS for two years, is already a member of the Hall of Fame and Team of the Century at both Richmond and Essendon.