Why Hawthorn's Rushed Behind On The Final Siren Didn't Count

Explained.

Why Hawthorn's Rushed Behind On The Final Siren Didn't Count

(Image: Fox Footy)

Hawthorn and GWS played out a miraculous draw in Tasmania on Saturday.

It was the Giants' second draw in two weeks, and it certainly came with some talking points.

One of them was the late behind which wasn't paid for Hawthorn.

Just after the siren went, Ryan Burton rushed the ball through, which for a brief moment looked to have given the Hawks a one-point win.

But the umpire signalled it wouldn't count.

That's because one, the siren had gone, and two, any score after the siren cannot be assisted through by a player on that team.

The AFL rules state a behind can still be recorded after the siren if the umpire is satisfied the behind hasn't been assisted by a player from that team.

But as the ball was punched through, it wasn't to be.

The rule

12.5.2 Football Touched in Transit

A Behind shall still be recorded under Law 12.5.1 if the football is touched in transit by another Player, provided the field Umpire is satisfied that the scoring of the Behind was not assisted by a Player from the same Team.

;