Australia Names Squad For ODI Series Against England

Full squad revealed.

Australia Names Squad For ODI Series Against England Image: Getty

The selectors have named the 14-man squad for the five-match one-day series against England this month.

The likes of Chris Lynn, Andrew Tye, Jhye Richardson and Tim Paine have been called into the ODI squad for the series starting on January 14.

But they come with some exclusions, most notably the absence of Victorian all-rounder Glenn Maxwell.

“No-one is in any doubt about Glenn’s ability or his potential to produce match-winning contributions with the bat," selector Trevor Hohns said.

"What we have wanted from him is more consistency but in his past 20 matches in this format he has averaged 22 and we need more than that from a player in the side’s batting engine room."

Matthew Wade has also been axed for Paine, and Hohns said the onus is now on him to find some more form.

"(Paine) deserves his opportunity in this form of the game and the challenge for Matthew is to return to the type of form that saw him score a one-day international hundred against Pakistan last summer."

Australia ODI squad:

Steve Smith (c), David Warner (vc), Pat Cummins, Aaron Finch, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Chris Lynn, Mitchell Marsh, Tim Paine, Jhye Richardson, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa