Victorian Cricket Has Ditched The 'Bushrangers' Name

Good decision?

Victorian Cricket Has Ditched The 'Bushrangers' Name Image: Getty

Victoria's cricket team will no longer be known as the Bushrangers after the state made a decision to scrap the nickname.

Victoria's two state teams will be known as the Victoria Men's Cricket Team and the Victorian Women's Cricket Team for this season and beyond.

The women have also let go of their VicSpirit name.

"In a new era for Victorian cricket, the usage of both the ‘Bushrangers’ and ‘VicSpirit’ names will cease and the teams will officially be referred to as the Victorian Men’s Cricket Team and Victorian Women’s Cricket Team into the future," the release said.

"The change in names has been made to simplify the number of elite team cricket brands in Victoria."

The squads were also announced, with the likes of John Hastings, Fawad Ahmed and Daniel Christian not offered new contracts.

Hastings announced his retirement from first-class and 50-over cricket last year.

Will Sutherland, Sam Grimwade and Mackenzie Harvey have been upgraded to full contracts.