Mal Meninga Names Kangaroos Origin Merit Team

Best of the best

Mal Meninga Names Kangaroos Origin Merit Team

Kangaroos coach Mal Meninga has named an 'Origin Merit Team' based on the performances during the 2017 Origin series.

Selectors have nominated nine players from QLD and eight from NSW.

"This is a special squad - the inaugural Kangaroos Origin Merit Team - and clearly it is a very talented squad as well," Meninga said.

"This has never been done before but I think it is an important step for the national team to make, based on the pathway from state through to international level."

  1. Billy Slater (QLD)
  2. Dane Gagai (QLD)
  3. Will Chambers (QLD)
  4. Johs Dugan (NSW)
  5. James Tedesco (NSW)
  6. James Maloney (NSW)
  7. Cooper Cronk (QLD)
  8. David Klemmer (NSW)
  9. Cameron Smith (QLD) 
  10. Dylan Napa (QLD)
  11. Matt Gillett (QLD)
  12. Boyd Cordner (NSW)
  13. Josh McGuire (QLD)
  14. Michael Morgan (QLD)
  15. Tyson Frizell (NSW)
  16. Jake Trbojevic (NSW)
  17. Josh Jackson (NSW)