Nines World Cup & Oceania Cup Locked In For 2019


Nines World Cup & Oceania Cup Locked In For 2019 AAP

The Rugby League International Federation Board has approved in principle a rolling calendar of matches for the next eight years.

Kicking off in 2019, the new International calendar will see a newly-created competition called the Oceania Cup be played at the conclusion of the NRL season. 

It will feature two groups;

Group A 

  • Australia
  • New Zealand 
  • Tonga

Group B

  • Samoa
  • Fiji
  • Papua New Guinea

In addition, 2019 will also see Australia host the first ever Nines World Cup in both Men's and Women's competitions.  


Tours are also a massive feature on the calendar, starting with the Great Britain Rugby League Lions in 2019, who will tour the Southern Hemisphere and face New Zealand, Tonga, Samoa, Fiji and Papua New Guinea. 

Australia will then tour Great Britain in 2020 as a lead in to the 2021 World Cup, to be held in England.