Clipsal 500 Fast Facts For This Weekend

Stuff You Did Or Didn't Know

Clipsal 500 Fast Facts For This Weekend

Drivers say it's the toughest event on the Supercar calendar.

It's also the one some of them want to win the most. (Yes, more than Bathurst!)

The Clipsal 500 is here and with it, we thought we'd run some fast facts by you.

So buckle up and get your head around some of these nuggets before you're off to the track or the armchair.

1. This year, the Clipsal (as locals, drivers and just about everyone calls it) reverts to the two 250km race format it ran until 2014.

2. The Adelaide street circuit is based on the old Formula 1 track the likes of Alain Prost and Ayrton Senna tore up until 1995. Speeds average 146 km/h, topping out at 251 km/h.

3. Craig Lowndes won the very first event in 1999 after completing a last-to-first performance in race 2 to claim the overall win.

4. Adelaide truly is a Holden town (at least while the factory is there). Holden's won the Clipsal 500 12 times to Ford's 6.

5. The now defunct Holden Racing Team's won it more than any other team with 7 trophys stashed away in the cabinet (somewhere).

6. Three manufacturers will race this year - Holden, Ford and Nissan.

7. Shane Van Gisbergen was the first Kiwi driver to win the Clipsal 500 in 2013.

8. Only two drivers have raced in every single Clipsal 500 since the first event in 1999 - Craig Lowndes and Garth Tander.

9. Four drivers have won the Clipsal 500 back-to-back - Mark Skaife, Marcos Ambrose, Jamie Whincup and James Courtney.

10. Jamie Whincup's the only driver to win the Clipsal 500 in a Ford and a Holden.