Shell Extends Sponsorship Deal With DJR Into "Next Decade"

New Livery, Co-Driver Deals

Shell Extends Sponsorship Deal With DJR Into "Next Decade"

Shell have been sponsoring Dick Johnson Racing cars for longer than most of us have been alive, and that will continue for many more years.

DJR Team Penske have today announced they'll keep racing as Shell V-Power Racing "into the next decade" after extending the sponsorship deal.

“Partnership with Shell is a part of the very fabric of this team,” said team principal Ryan Story.

“It has always been there, and we’ve shared some of our greatest moments with the Shell logo on the doors."

Last year, the oil company marked 50 years of backing Dick Johnson as a driver and team owner.

Also revealed today was the new livery and it's err, the same as last year.

But that's no bad thing for a team voted as last year's best presented and narrowly missed out on the drivers' title despite taking home the team's championship.

Fabian Coulthard and Scott McLaughlin share a garage for a second season.

They'll again be joined by co-drivers Tony D'Alberto and Alex Premat for the endurance events meaning the team is unchanged across its 2 cars for the first time since 1987.

Stability appears to be the theme for a team that found its secret sauce last season after getting pipped at the post at the season finale in Newcastle.

“What we have done is make some changes where they were necessary," said Story."

"Some are obvious, others far less so but it all comes back to that credo — unfinished business."

“We have focused only on what was required to correct the things that did not go to plan in 2017. Everything that works is coming into 2018.”

The squad will again be looking to fly the flag for Ford against the factory-backed Red Bull Holden Racing Team Commodores of Jamie Whincup and Shane van Gisbergen.

Catch the Shell V-Power Falcons back in action at this weekend's season opening Adelaide 500.