The Adelaide 500 "Know It Alls"

Fast Facts

The Adelaide 500 "Know It Alls"

It's been a busy off-season, especially for the Holden teams getting to know their new ZB Commodore packages.

But a few months of no racing at all comes to an end when the 2018 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship begins in Adelaide.

Here's some stuff to know for this weekend's racing.

1. It's the 20th anniversary of the Adelaide 500 (previously the Clipsal 500) which first hit the Adelaide streets in 1999.

2. Jamie Whincup's won the most races here with four overall victories and 10 individual race wins.

3. It's the 200th Championship round for the highly successful Triple Eight Racing (who run the Red Bull and Autobarn cars). The team have won a whopping 170 races since beginning in 2003.

4. The factory might be gone, but Adelaide's firmly a Holden town with Commodore drivers unbeaten since 2013 with 13 consecutive race wins here.

5. Half of the drivers will be thrashing brand new race cars in Adelaide with 13 new ZB Commodores to be loaded off the trucks this week.

6. Adelaide's as tough as they come. None of the races here have seen every driver make the chequered flag.

7. Five rookies begin their full-time driving careers this weekend: Jack Le Brocq, James Golding, Todd Hazelwood, Richie Stanaway and Anton de Pasquale.

8. Eight current drivers can tell you what it's like to win an Adelaide (or Clipsal 500): Jamie Whincup, Garth Tander, James Courtney, Shane van Gisbergen, Craig Lowndes, Nick Percat, Will Davison and Rick Kelly.

9. Garth Tander and Craig Lowndes are the only two drivers who've raced in every Adelaide 500 since the event debuted in 1999.

10. Craig Lowndes is the only driver who's raced in all 40 races here - Tander missed the race in '04 after a warm up crash.