AFLX 2018 Details Revealed

Who's your team playing?

17 November 2017

Article heading image for AFLX 2018 Details Revealed

The AFL have confirmed that the abbreviated version of footy, AFLX, will take place over three nights in three cities in February.

Adelaide’s Hindmarsh Stadium, Melbourne’s Etihad Stadium and Sydney’s Allianz Stadium will stage six-team competitions on February 15, 16 and 17 respectively.

Each AFLX tournament will consist of six teams split into two pools of three.

Adelaide, Port Adelaide, Collingwood, West Coast, Fremantle and Geelong will feature in the Adelaide tournament.

Melbourne, North Melbourne, St Kilda, Carlton, Hawthorn and Essendon will do battle in the Melbourne tournament.

Sydney, Greater Western Sydney, the Brisbane Lions, Western Bulldogs, Richmond and Gold Coast will face off in the Sydney tournament. (scroll down for more details).

Teams in the same pool will play against each other once, with the top team from each pool facing off in a grand final.

It's unclear as to which teams will be playing in which pools at this stage.

Games will consist of two 10-minute halves with a two-minute break at half-time.

AFLX is played on a rectangular field with 10 players per team – seven on the field and three on the bench.

There are no limits on rotations.

Players will be penalised for touching the ball last before it goes out of bounds while the ball will be kicked in after all scores.

There will be 10-point super goals for goals kicked outside 40 metres.

The game will be officiated by two field umpires, two boundary umpires and two goal umpires.

Listen Live!