Nominees Announced For Melbourne Comedy Festival Award 2019

Who Have You Seen?

Article heading image for Nominees Announced For Melbourne Comedy Festival Award 2019

The nominees for this year's Melbourne International Comedy Festival Award have been announced.

The shortlist for the prestigious award, known until last year as "The Barry Award" are:

* Anne Edmonds (What's Wrong With You?)

* Cassie Workman (Giantess)

* Geraldine Hickey (Things Are Going Well)

* James Acaster (Cold Lasagne Hate Myself 1999)

* Nath Valvo (I'm Happy For You)

* Tom Allen (Absolutely)

The shortlist reflects an excellent year in terms of Australian comedy talent with all bar Acaster and Allen (both British) flying the Aussie flag. 

Also announced was the shortlist for Best Newcomer Award, which features Blake Freeman, Dan Rath, Nina Oyama, and Oliver Coleman.

And the Pinder Prize, which goes to financially enable two performers to make their debut at the Edinburgh Fringe this year, went to Sam Taunton and Steph Tisdell.

Check out Sam's hilarious recent appearance on the Rush Hour with JB and Bill here:

The Melbourne International Comedy Festival Award was renamed this year after a controversy over the former name. "The Barry Award" was so called after legendary Aussie comedian Barry Humphries but many comedians spoke out over remarks Humphries made last year when he described Transgendered people as "mutilated men".

In renaming the award, the organising committee have neatly sidestepped some awkwardness given shortlisted performer Cassie Workman is transgendered and her show, Giantess, deals with how she had to suppress her identity until she came out. 


There's still time to check out the above shows - or any of the 600+ comedy performances at the Melbourne International Comedy Festival. Find a show for you and your mates at their website here. 

Matt Bellotti

16 April 2019

Article by:

Matt Bellotti

Listen Live!
Latest Catch up