The Latest A Rising Star Winner Has Ever Been Nominated

How late is too late?

18 July 2017

(Image: Getty)

How late is too late before you should give up on winning the NAB Rising Star?

Ever since its introduction in 1993, the Rising Star award has been taken out by some of the biggest names to grace the AFL - including Nathan BuckleyBen CousinsAdam Goodes and Nick Riewoldt to name a few.

The average winner is generally nominated in the first handful of rounds of their respective seasons; but there are exceptions.

Here are the latest nominees to ever win the Rising Star:

Rising Star Winners - Latest Nominees

1. Callum Mills (Sydney Swans, 2016) - Round 16

2. Justin Koschitzke (St Kilda, 2001) - Round 14

=3. Daniel Talia (Adelaide, 2012) - Round 12

-3. Ben Cousins (West Coast, 1996) - Round 12

Given Brisbane's Alex Witherden has just been nominated for Round 17 of the 2017 season, he and everyone after him would need a record-breaking effort to snare the win.

On the other end of the spectrum, here are the winners that were all given the nod in Round 1:

Rising Star Winners - Earliest Nominees

=1. Paul Hasleby (Fremantle, 2000) - Round 1

=1. Sam Mitchell (Hawthorn, 2003) - Round 1

=1. Daniel Rich (Brisbane Lions, 2009) - Round 1

=1. Dyson Heppell (Essendon, 2011) - Round 1

Listen Live!