The Two A-League Expansion Clubs Have Been Confirmed

In Melbourne and Sydney

Rudi Edsall

13 December 2018

Rudi Edsall

Article heading image for The Two A-League Expansion Clubs Have Been Confirmed

Image: AAP

The FFA has today confirmed that Macarthur South West Sydney and Western Melbourne will be the two new A-League clubs.

FFA chairman Chris Nikou announced the new teams at a press conference today, with the Melbourne team to enter for next season and Macarthur the season after.

Western Melbourne will play out of Kardinia Park in Geelong for the first two seasons until they build a purpose-built stadium in the western suburb of Tarneit, which they say they will build themselves.

Macarthur will play out of Campbelltown Stadium.

“The FFA has been involved in a very comprehensive process to identify teams for the expansion of the A-League,” Nikou said.

“We have made a decision. There will be two new teams joining the A-League going forward.

“I can confirm that the two successful bidders are the Western Sydney MacArthur bid and in Melbourne the Western Melbourne bid.

“Each gives us a wonderful footprint into growth corridors in the Australian market place and position us for the long-term gain of expanding football in this country.”

The bids that missed out include a south-eastern Melbourne side, National Soccer League powerhouse South Melbourne, a Southern Sydney bid and Canberra United.

The Macarthur are hoping to make ex-Socceroos captain Mile Jedinak their first signing.

Make sure you download the Triple M app on iTunes or Google Play to stay across all our best stuff!

Listen Live!